While this will be obvious to some, I’ve had questions from family and other health minded folk about this, so will quickly clarify.
You’ve probably seen gluten free oats on the supermarket shelves, which are usually priced several times more expensive than the “standard” kind. Seeing this it’s easy to think that Oats must contain gluten, and that gluten free oats are “healthier”.
The truth is oats do not contain any gluten, however they can become contaminated with tiny amounts during processing.
If you have celiac disease then this tiny amount can still cause you to react, and the safe bet is to buy the gluten-free oats which will be processed in a different environment.
However if you do not suffer from celiac disease, then save your money and get the standard kind.